Zach Jonson the first Winner of 2014


Zach Johnson held his nerves to become the first PGA winner of 2014 and win his 11th PGA tour title. The American won the Hyundai Tournament of Champions in Hawaii by just one shot ahead of fellow countryman Jordan Spieth. The youngster Spieth was in a three-way share of the lead going into the final round, alongside Dustin Johnson and Webb Simpson but with a final round of 66 which included seven birdies, Zach Johnson managed to overcome the difference between him and the leaders to win the $1,140,000 prize money.

Jordan Spieth was Zach Johnson’s closest competitor and could’ve forced a play-off with Johnson if he had chipped in on the 18th hole at Kapalua. Spieth picked up for birdies in his round of 69 and saw himself holding a one shot lead at the turn, but he couldn’t do enough to keep Johnson at bay.

Webb Simpson finished tied for third alongside Kevin Streelman on 17 under par who carded a final round of 67 to fire his way through the field. Dustin Johnson saw himself slip away from the lead after shooting a final round of one over par which saw him finish tied for sixth in company with Billy Horschel, Matt Kuchar and 2013 Masters winner Adam Scott.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s