Sports Personality of the Year


The nominees for the 6oth Sports Personality of the year award are now on show and consists of many great sportsmen and women from all sports and with different achievements.

Here are some of the 2013 contenders who are looking to follow in Sir Bradley Wiggins’ footsteps.

First up is Sir Ben Ainslie who after being Knighted in the Queen’s New Year Honours has out done himself yet again this year. The Sailor helped Oracle Team USA comeback from 8-1 down to win 9-8 against Team New Zealand and become the first Briton in 110 years to be on board a winning America’s cup boat. The most decorated sailor in Olympic history is an outstanding inspiration and a well deserved contender.

Ian Bell, one of England’s finest cricketers is the next nominee and is also another great contender. Ian Bell was the main man and key player in England’s Ashes victory this summer where his tally of 562 and an average of 62 runs from middle order equaled the English record for most runs scored in a five match home Ashes.

Next up is the Paralympic gold medalist, Hannah Cockroft. She followed up her immaculate performance at the 2012 Paralympic games with a sprint double at the IPC World Athletics Championship in Lyon this year. She won the T34 200m title and the T34 100m with a little help from a new championship record  of 17.88 seconds. Hannah is nicknamed the ‘Hurricane’ and has taken the athletics world by storm by setting a new stadium record at the Anniversary games in London where she won yet another T33/T34 100m race.

Who can forget the athlete who became only the second man in history to complete an Olympic and World ‘double-double’ in distance running events. Mo Farah then went on to follow in Ethiopian Kenenisa Bekele footsteps by dominating long distance running and win both the 5,000m and 10,000m events at the World Athletics Championships. He has not only dominated the 5,000m and 10,000m but earlier this year he also broke Steve Crams 28-year-old British record in the 1,500m.

Chris Froome is looking to follow in the achievement of his compatriot Sir Bradley Wiggins in winning the Sports Personality of the year award. Froome had an amazing year which saw him win the title of the Tour de France making it back to back British Victories. Froome won the event by four minutes and wore the yellow jersey from stage 8.

Cardiff Blues full-back Leigh Halfpenny starred in both Wales’ six nations triumph and the British and Irish Lions Australian tour victory. His 21 points not only helped decide the third test in the Australian tour but also helped beat the previous series record held by his kicking coach Neil Jenkins. It was a one man show in this years Six Nations as Halfpenny helped Wales retain the title with an outstanding 74 points which not only meant Wales won the Six Nations but Halfpenny gained the title of Player of the tournament.

AP McCoy became the first jump jockey to ride 4,000 winners which is also 1,500 wins more than the next most successful racer, Richard Johnson. After a fall left him in intensive care, McCoy is set to win a 19th consecutive champion jump jockey title. As most of you already know, McCoy is already a winner of the Sports Personality of the year award which he won in 2010. Can he make it two awards?

Britain waited 77 years for this next contender as he became the 2013 Wimbledon Men’s singles champion. Andy Murray beat Novak Djokovic in an absolutely phenomenal final that became won of the best games of Tennis the world has ever seen. Murray lost to Djokovic earlier this year in the Australian open and looked to seek revenge as he became a man on a mission to win his second major title. Murray is seen to be the favorite to win the Sports Personality of the year award 2013 but it won’t be easy for him as the competition is fierce.

Christine Ohuruogu stormed to gold in the 400m at the World Athletics Championships for the second time. She became the first British female athlete to win two world titles and her time of 49.41 seconds beat Kathy Cook’s national record that had stood since 1984. Christine has dominated the 400m for the past few years after winning in 2007 at the World Championships and winning in 2008 at the Beijing Olympic games.

Last but not least is golf’s own Mr Nice Guy, Justin Rose. Who earlier this year became England’s first major winner since Sir Nick Faldo in 1996. Rose’s maiden open win also made him the first English golfer to lift the US Open trophy since Tony Jacklin 43 years ago which catapulted him into a career-high of third in the world rankings.

There are the contenders, but who will win?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s