World number one defeated by his own tooth

Rory Mcilroy lasted just eight holes into his second round after falling to a demoralising seven over par for the tournament. He’s overcome a heart breaking final round in the masters last year to then win the US open, but it seems he has shown the world that he is human after all after failing to conquer his own teeth.

The world number one released this statement following his departure from the tournament, “I have been suffering with a sore wisdom tooth, which is due to come out in the near future,” he said.”It was very painful again this morning, and I was simply unable to concentrate. It was really bothering me and had begun to affect my playing partners.I came here with every intention of defending my Honda Classic title. Even though my results haven’t revealed it, I really felt like I was turning a corner.”

But could this spark some controversial allegations as the rules clearly state that players are not allowed to stop playing unless there is a threat of lightning or some other good reason such as sudden illness.

The 23-year-old Irishman now has 14 days to produce a statement to give to the PGA Tour Commissioner Tim Finchem with evidence to support his claim.

The top half of the Honda Classic leaderboard is dominated by Americans with Michael Thompson leading the pack. But don’t rule out the rest of world as Lee Westwood is three shots behind sitting comfortably tied for third alongside Geoff Ogilvy.

Leave a comment